Baby Play Afternoon (Suitable for Toddler too)

Activity 1:  Baby Straws

You will need:

  • A cardboard box
  • Straws

To make this simple activity, I poked some holes into the top of a cardboard box and threaded some straws through. Simple!  This activity is great for hand eye coordination and fine motor skills.

Baby Straws

The  look on G’s face when I showed her the activity was just priceless. She is really getting excited now when she’s presented with a new game.  She began by flapping the box around but I quickly decided to weight the box down with my hand just in case she poked her eyes with the straws.  It also gave her some leverage to pull the straws out of their hole.

Baby Straws.jpg2

It took G a couple of minutes before she started pulling at the straws.  She held on to them at first but as soon as she realised they came out when she pulled them, that was it! BEST GAME EVER!

Baby Straws.jpg4

Just look at the pride on her little face as she succeeded to pull out the straws!  Isn’t it funny how we can be so pleased with ourselves at such a young age!

Baby Straws.jpg5

Another trait from her mother, utter determination to get the job done! The little angel did not stop until every straw was out of the hole!

Baby Straws.jpg7

Activity 2:  A First Baby Post Game

You will need:

  • A muffin tray
  • Variety of balls

For those who have followed my blog for a while, you will know I love collecting balls! YES, you’re reading it correctly!!  Balls! From a very young age, balls provide fantastic open ended play opportunities and have limitless possibilities. Let’s face it, the whole world likes a ball and there are people across the globe obsessed with watching them flying into the back of a net or hoop, zoom over a rugby post, be blasted by a bat, racket, stick and so on! So, investing in an array of balls is a must in my opinion.  J and G between them have a LOT of balls! Whenever I see an interesting one, I buy it and they are usually less than £1!

A First Baby Post Game.jpg5

For this activity, I simply put one ball in each section of the muffin tin and presented it to G to do what she wanted with it.

A First Baby Post Game

To begin with G just moved the balls within their little nest.  She span the slippy. lighter ones and stretched and touched them all.

A First Baby Post Game.jpg3

After a while, G managed to get the balls out, eat them, touch them, roll them and some she shook too as they have pasta shells, rice etc in! I made them a while ago and they’re still going strong! See more here.

A First Baby Post Game.jpg6

With the very light ping pong balls, as well as picking them up, throwing, rolling and exploring them she also managed to put them back into the muffin tin! What a clever baby! I’m sure she’ll love this game more and more as she gets older.

A First Baby Post Game.jpg7

Activity 3:  It’s You!

You will need:

  • A variety of child safe mirrors and/or reflective trays

I used a child’s car mirror, small roasting tray, large child’s mirror, a book with mirror at the back and two baby toys with mirrors on.

It's you!

We all know children love seeing other babies and looking in mirrors! G often talks to the baby in the mirror and is sometimes treats her to a lick! You can see the lovely slobber left in the book!

It's you!.jpg3

What a lovely sight seeing my baby look at a book! Never too young to read!

It's you!.jpg2

Providing baby with a bunch of mirrors and reflective surfaces allows them to explore their own face and eventually they will discover who that mysterious character in the mirror actually is! J loves looking at himself in the mirror and I always catch him smiling, talking and pulling funny faces at himself! In fact, the two of them look at themselves and each other in reflective surfaces all of the time! It’s very cute!

It's you!.jpg5

This open ended play opportunity allowed Baby G not only to look at herself and rehearse her early talking skills but also have a good noise making session! She just loved banging on the roasting tin! Think we need a noisy session tomorrow! God help my ears! Eye rolling smile

It's you!.jpg7It's you!.jpg8

7 Comments

  1. I’ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  2. After going over a few of the blog articles on your blog, I truly appreciate your way of blogging. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my website too and let me know what you think.

  3. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will come back very soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  4. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But imagine if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this blog could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field. Amazing blog!

  5. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse
    your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast
    your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

Leave a comment