Home

This is the easiest and quickest, no-cook play dough recipe using all normal, everyday items from your kitchen cupboard! I promise!

I really, truly am having very little sleep right now as Baby G is going through a ‘phase!’ I’ve lost count of the number of ‘phases’ babies/children have but a lot of them tend to mean NO sleep! I just want to give a context to this post as I PROMISE I really am exhausted! So, now you know how flaked I am, hopefully  you will believe me when I say that this recipe is SO ridiculously easy and fast that ANYBODY can do it! Believe me!

A day in the house was needed today and as J wasn’t at nursery, by 11am he was asking for something to do! He’d pulled out every toy he has and played with them since our ‘get up’ at 6am and despite toys having many benefits, they do not keep children occupied forever!  So, CBeebies was watched for a while and then, J was asking for something to do again!

I reached for the play dough basket to be greeted with dried out, hardened rubbish only suitable for the bin!! This was all shop-bought and in fairness has been played with for a long while.  I have no issue with shop-bought play dough at all and find it not too expensive to be honest.  However, I WAS NOT leaving the house and decided to ‘brave’ making my own play dough.  I knew it was easy but I didn’t realise how easy!!

I didn’t have cream of tartar in the cupboard (who does?) so I substituted that for MORE salt. Basically the cream of tartar makes the play dough last longer, but extra salt will essentially do the same thing. So, PLEASE have a go at making this SUPER EASY, SIMPLE, NO COOK play dough. After today, I will NEVER buy shop-bought again!

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 11

What do you need?

  • Four cups of plain flour
  • One and half cups of salt
  • Two tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • Two cups of warm water
  • Liquid food colouring

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play

1. Pour two cups of warm water into a bowl and three/four drops of food colouring.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 2

2. Add two tablespoons of vegetable oil to the water.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 3

3. In a separate bowl, put four cups of plain flour and add one and half cups of salt.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 4

4. Ask your beautiful assistant (in my case, J) to stir the flour and salt.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 6

5. Once the flour and salt are mixed well, pour in the water, oil and food colouring mixture.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 8

6. Next, stir the mixture well with a spoon.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 9

7. Pour some flour onto a board ready to knead the dough.  You need to knead the dough well until you reach the play dough consistency.  You will know when you do as it really is just like the shop-bought stuff!

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 10

The amounts I used produced enough play dough for two generous batches.  I put one in a sandwich bag with sealable top.  Ensuring all the air was out of the bag before I sealed it, I then popped it into the fridge.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 12

As J had been involved with the making of the play dough, he was very proud of it and couldn’t wait to get playing.

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 13

After lots of rolling, cutting, pushing, twisting, breaking into tiny pieces, the play dough showed it was just as good as  shop-bought and J loved it.  Once he’d finished, we put it into another sandwich bag and popped it in the fridge.  I’m confident we’ll get a good couple of weeks out of this mixture.  I’ll keep you posted.  Hand on heart, this genuinely took me less than ten minutes to make and that involved stopping at each stage to take a photo, so in reality, I think it took about five minutes. Just a tad chuffed with myself!! Winking smile I would LOVE to see the colours you come up with.  I’m definitely going to be doing lots of experimenting with it over the next few weeks.  Happy weekend to you all and I hope you can fit a five to ten minute play dough making session into it! It’s so worth it and will keep the littlies occupied for ages!

Seven Simple Steps to Making Playdough with Precious Play 16

Leave a Reply

